Southway Primary School strives to keep children/young people safe by valuing them, listening to and respecting them, and through our policies, procedures and practices. 

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) for Southway Primary School is Mrs Catherine Monk

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leaders are Mr Mike Wood, Ms Jools Eden, Mrs Karen Cruse and Mr Alex Blackman.

Staff who have completed Safer Recruitment Training are Mr Mike Wood, Mr Alex Blackman, Mrs Catherine Monk and Miss Caroline Smith.  Governors who have completed Safer Recruitment Training are Mrs Diane Willson and Mr Ken Pritchard.

The Safeguarding Policy is available here.

The associated E-Safety Policy is available here.

As part of our safeguarding strategy, we are committed to promoting internet safety. Please also look at our 'E-Safety' page on this website.

If you have a concern about a child, the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) for Southway Primary School is Mrs Catherine Monk.  The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Leaders are Ms Jools Eden, Mrs Karen Cruse and Mr Alex Blackman.

If you are worried about a child and are unable to speak to someone at school, please call MASH (the Multi Agency Safeguarding Hub) on 01403 229900, or email

To get help and advice on a wide range of issues, the Childline number is 0800 1111

In an emergency, call 999.

Network rail - keeping safe

Due to the very high level of trespassing on the tracks by young people in our local area, Network Rail in partnership with Learn Live are working to help raise awareness to students across the UK educating them about the dangers of the train tracks through interactive digital delivery.

There is a safety video below that you may want to watch with your children, however Network Rail would strongly recommend that you watch it first before showing your children to that you can pre-empt any questions your child may have.

Please be aware that this video contains security camera footage towards the beginning, of cars crossing the level crossing as barriers come down and also of a car rushing to get through the barriers and knocking two cyclists off their bikes. 

You can access the video by clicking this link.

This video is aimed at children aged between 7 and 11 years old.

The school is part of United Learning. United Learning comprises: UCST (Registered in England No: 2780748. Charity No. 1016538) and ULT (Registered in England No. 4439859. An Exempt Charity). Companies limited by guarantee. VAT number 834 8515 12.
Registered address: United Learning, Worldwide House, Thorpe Wood, Peterborough, PE3 6SB. Tel: 01832 864 444

Financial Accountability and Freedom of Information
Website Terms, Cookies and Privacy

United Learning